

CHRISTINE C. QUINN
SPEAKER

Telephone 212-788-7210

January 30, 2013

Hon. Michael R. Bloomberg Mayor of the City of New York City Hall New York, NY 10007

Dear Mayor Bloomberg:

We understand that Retired Justice Milton Mollen raised the suggestion today that the City and Amalgamated Transit Union Local 1181 engage in a cooling off period that would end the current bus strike and postpone consideration of the Department of Education's school bus contract bids. We encourage you to accept the Justice's suggestion.

A cooling off period would bring an immediate end to the school bus strike, which has left less than one third of New York City public school bus routes running. Justice Mollen's suggestion presents an opportunity to end, even if temporarily, the havoc created by the bus strike, restoring much needed normalcy to the thousands of students and families affected by this strike and ending the disruption to the educational and related services provided by schools. Unnecessarily prolonging this strike puts the education of thousands of students, especially special needs students, at risk.

Postponing the bid opening, now scheduled for February 12, 2013, would give all parties time to negotiate a deal that would avoid further disruption and appropriately serve New York students. With a brief cooling off period, the Department would still have ample time to ensure that new contracts are in place for school opening next year. By effectively resolving this dispute now, the City would also be better able to rebid all of its school-age bus contracts without conflict over the next several years.

Again, we urge you to accept Justice Mollen's suggestion of a cooling off period and to commence negotiations with Local 1181 forthwith.

Sincerely,

Christine C. Quinn Speaker

Robert Jackson Chair, Education Committee

lafest behand

Margaret S. Chin Council Member Stephen 1. Lem.

Stephen Levin Council Member Albert Vann Council Member G. Oliver Koppell Council Member

A Cher; Keppell

Mark Weprin Council Member

Mac Way

James Vacca Council Member Vincent Ignizio Council Member

Maren Koslowet

Karen Koslowitz Council Member James S. Odolo

James S. Oddo Council Member Gale A. Brewer
Council Member

ez E. Dirkey

Peter Koo Council Member

Melissa Mark-Viverito Council Member Inez E. Dickens Council Member

Deborah Rose Council Member

James F. Gennaro Council Member Daniel Dromm Council Member

David Greenfield Council Member Sara M. Gonzalez Council Member

Di A. Min Jan M. Ange

Michael Nelson Council Member

Darlene Mealy

Council Member

Jumaane D. Williams Council Member Annabel Palma Council Member Maarono

M. C. Arroyo Council Member

/
Joel Rivera

Council Member

Charles S. Barron Council Member

Vhaile Mario

Mathieu Eugene Council Member

Domenic M. Recchia, Jr. Council Member

Letitia James \
Council Member

May Come

Leroy G. Comrie Council Member

Andy King
Council Member

Rosie Mendez Council Member

Jessia & Lappin

Jessica S. Lappin Council Member

Ydanis Rodriguez
Council Member

Lauis Kodiguez

Fernando Cabrera Council Member

Jimmy Van Bramer Council Member

ing Van Browne

Ruben Wills Council Member

Elizabeth Crowley Council Member

Brad Lander Council Member

Vincent J. Gentile Council Member

excent & Sentile

Diana Reyna Council Member

Diana Beyna

Alle Diane Fast

Helen Diane Foster Council Member

Daniel J. Halloran Council Member